IMMEDIATE AND ONGOING OPPORTUNITIES FOR PUBLIC RESPONSE: Minnesota's Health Data Collection Rule and Law

IMMEDIATE AND ONGOING OPPORTUNITIES FOR PUBLIC RESPONSE: Minnesota's Health Data Collection Rule and Law

PLEASE NOTE: In all correspondence, include the official title of the RULE (Proposed Permanent Rules Regarding Administrative Billing Data, Minnesota Rules, chapter 4653) and/or the officials title of the state LAW (Health Care Cost Containment: Minnesota Statutes 62J.301 - 62J.42)

1) CONTACT YOUR LEGISLATORS. The rule is based on a 10-year old state law. The Minnesota Legislature can choose to repeal or change the law that enabled the rule. Send or email a separate letter (or a copy of your previous letter to the judge or MDH) to your state Representative and Senator.

A letter or email to the chairs of certain committees could be sent also: Rep. Lynda Boudreau (R-Faribault), House Health and Human Services Policy Committee; Rep Fran Bradley (R-Rochester), House Health and Human Services Finance Committee; Senator Becky Lourey (D-Kerrick), Senate Health and Family Security Committee; Sen. Linda Berglin, Health, Human Services and Corrections Budget Division; Rep. Steve Smith, House Civil Law Committee; and Senator Don Betzold, Senate Judiciary Committee. Find below (#6) the contact numbers and email for all members of these committees.

For names, addresses, email, and phone numbers of YOUR legislators: call HOUSE information at 651-296-2146 and SENATE information at 651-296-0504. Or view the Minnesota legislature web page: http://www.leg.state.mn.us/ . The list of all legislators can be found here: http://www.house.leg.state.mn.us/hinfo/1108ecard.pdf (PDF)

2) CONTACT THE GOVERNOR. Governor Tim Pawlenty will be responsible for signing or vetoing new legislation to create new law, or change or repeal old law. Minnesota Statutes 62J which enables the health data collection is old law. Contact Governor Tim Pawlenty at Office of the Governor, 130 State Capitol, 75 Rev. Dr. MLK Blvd., St. Paul, MN 55155. Phone: 651-296-3391 and 1-800-657-3717. Fax: 651-296-2089. Email: tim.pawlenty@state.mn.us. Governor's Web site:www.governor.state.mn.us

3) WRITE A LETTER TO THE EDITOR. Express your thoughts, feelings and opinions about the law or the rule in a letter to your local newspaper, the Star Tribune (opinion@startribune.com) or the St. Paul Pioneer Press (letters@pioneerpress.com). Remember, legislators read the news, looking for the public's opinion on issues they may be asked to consider during session.

4) SHARE THIS INFORMATION. Share (email, post at work) this information with family, friends and colleagues. Note that this is not only an issue of medical and genetic privacy but of personal autonomy, personal dignity, civil liberties, professional integrity, the patient-doctor relationship, and the integrity of the entire health care system.

5) SEND CCHC YOUR FINANCIAL SUPPORT. Support CCHC's educational efforts with a generous contribution. Tax-deductible corporate and individual contributions can be sent to CCHC, 1954 University Ave. W., Suite 8, St. Paul, MN 55104 or through our website.

6) CONTACT COMMITTEE MEMBERS. See names, phone numbers and email addresses. Click here.

NOTE OF CAUTION: Before deciding that the collection of medical information without names and addresses is acceptable, consider:

  • The LAW allows the entire medical record to be obtained by the state.
  • The collected information could include DNA and genetic information.
  • The information may still be indentifiable though de-identified.
  • Private information will become state property.
  • Physicians will be tracked by name, treatment decisions, and prescriptions
  • Patient data can be used to create state-endorsed treatment guidelines
  • Proponents of re-identification would only need a new legislature and a short paragraph buried in some 400-page health care bill to reattach names and addresses at some point in the future.

IMPORTANT LINKS:

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR MINNESOTA LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES


HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES POLICY COMMITTEE

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Lynda Boudreau (R) 26B 651-296-8237 rep.lynda.boudreau@house.mn
Vice: Jim Abeler (R) 48B 651-296-1729 rep.jim.abeler@house.mn
Fran Bradley (R) 29B 651-296-9249 rep.fran.bradley@house.mn
Jerry Dempsey (R) 28A 651-296-8635 rep.jerry.dempsey@house.mn
Brad Finstad (R) 21B 651-296-9303 rep.brad.finstad@house.mn
Bud Nornes (R) 10A 651-296-4946 rep.bud.nornes@house.mn
Char Samuelson (R) 50B 651-296-0141 rep.char.samuelson@house.mn
Steve Smith (R) 33A 651-296-9188 rep.steve.smith@house.mn
Judy Soderstrom (R) 8B 651-296-0518 rep.judy.soderstrom@house.mn
Tim Wilkin (R) 38A 651-296-3533 rep.tim.wilkin@house.mn
Thomas Huntley (DFL) 7A 651-296-2228 rep.thomas.huntley@house.mn
Joe Opatz (DFL) 15B 651-296-6612 rep.joe.opatz@house.mn
Mary Ellen Otremba (DFL) 11B 651-296-3201 rep.maryellen.otremba@house.mn
Michael Paymar (DFL) 64B 651-296-4199 rep.michael.paymar@house.mn
Cy Thao (DFL) 65A 651-296-5158 rep.cy.thao@house.mn
Neva Walker (DFL) 61B 651-296-7152 rep.neva.walker@house.mn
Committee Administrator:
Andy Gildea
  651-296-5065  
Committee Legislative Asst:
Cassi Holmstrom
  651-296-5489  




HOUSE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES FINANCE COMMITTEE
 

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Fran Bradley (R) See above    
Vice Chair: Tim Wilkin (R) See above    
Jim Abeler (R) See above    
Lynda Boudreau (R) See above    
Brad Finstad (R) See above    
Jim Knoblach (R) (non-voting)   651-296-6316 rep.jim.knoblach@house.mn
Bud Nornes (R) See above    
Char Samuelson (R) See above    
Thomas Huntley (DFL) See above    
Joe Opatz (DFL) See above    
Mary Ellen Otremba (DFL) See above    
Cy Thao (DFL) See above    
Committee Administrator:
Heidi Holste
  651-296-7185  
Committee Legislative Asst:
Cheryl Burke
  651-296-4375  




HOUSE CIVIL LAW COMMITTEE (Constitutional, legal, judicial issues)
 

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Steve Smith (R) 33A 651-296-9188 rep.steve.smith@house.mn
Vice: Chris DeLaForest (R) 49A 651-296-4231 rep.chris.delaforest@house.mn
Dick Borrell (R) 19B 651-296-4336 rep.dick.borrell@house.mn
Paul Kohls (R) 34A 651-296-4282 rep.paul.kohls@house.mn
Eric Lipman (R) 56A 651-296-4244 rep.eric.lipman@house.mn
Rich Stanek (R) 32B 651-296-5502 rep.rich.stanek@house.mn
Howard Swenson (R) 23A 651-296-8634 rep.howard.swenson@house.mn
Lynn Wardlow (R) 38B 651-296-4128 rep.lynn.wardlow@house.mn
Joe Atkins (DFL) 39B 651-296-4192 rep.joe.atkins@house.mn
Len Biernat (DFL) 59A 651-296-4219 rep.len.biernat@house.mn
Ron Latz (DFL) 44B 651-296-7026 rep.ron.latz@house.mn
Thomas Pugh (DFL) 39A 651-296-6828 rep.tom.pugh@house.mn
Committee Administrator:
Dennis Virden
  651-296-6860  
Committee Administrator Asst:
Scott Wiggins
  651-296-5356  




SENATE HEALTH AND FAMILY SECURITY COMMITTEE
 

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Becky Lourey 8 (651) 296-7593  
Linda Berglin (D) 61 (651) 296-4261 Email
Michelle L. Fischbach (R) 14 (651) 296-2084 sen.michelle.fischbach@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Leo T. Foley (D) 47 (651) 296-4154 sen.leo.foley@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Linda Higgins (D) 58 (651) 296-9246 sen.linda.higgins@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Steve Kelley (D) 44 (651)296-8065 sen.steve.kelley@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Sheila M. Kiscaden (I) 30 (651) 296-4848 sen.sheila.kiscaden@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Brian LeClair (R) 56 (651) 296-4166 not yet available
Sean R. Nienow (R) 17 (651) 296-5419 not yet available
Committee Administrator:
Position vacant
  (651) 296-xxxx  
Legislative Assistant:
Patricia Wallner
  (651) 296-xxxx  




SENATE HEALTH HUMAN SERVICES AND CORRECTIONS BUDGET DIVISION
 

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Linda Berglin (D) 61 (651) 296-4151 See above
Vice: Linda Higgins (D) 58 See above  
Leo T. Foley (D) 47 See above  
Sheila M. Kiscaden (I) 30 See above  
Paul E. Koering (R) 12 (651) 296-4875 Not yet available.
Brian LeClair (R) 56 See above  
Becky Lourey (D) 8 See above  
Carrie L. Ruud (R) 4 (651) 296-4913 Not yet available.
Yvonne Prettner Solon (D) 7 (651) 296-4188 sen.yvonne.prettner_solon@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Committee Administrator:
Lou Larson Tofte
  (651) 296-4151  
Legislative Assistant:
Shelley Polansky
  (651) 296-4261  




SENATE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE
 

Name Dist. Phone Email
Chair: Don Betzold (D) 51 (651) 296-2556 sen.don.betzold@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Vice: Wes Skoglund (D) 62 (651) 296-4274 Not yet available.
Richard J. Cohen (D) 64 (651) 296-5931 sen.richard.cohen@senate.leg.state.mn.us
David Hann (R) 42 (651) 296-1749 Not yet available.
John C. Hottinger (D) 23 (651) 296-6153 sen.john.hottinger@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Warren Limmer (R) 32 (651)296-2159 sen.warren.limmer@senate.leg.state.mn.us
John Marty (D) 54 (651) 296-5645 sen.john.marty@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Thomas M. Neuville (R) 25 (651) 296-1279 sen.thomas.neuville@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Julianne E. Ortman (R) 34 (651) 296-4837 Not yet available.
Ann H. Rest (D) 45 (651) 296-2889 sen.ann.rest@senate.leg.state.mn.us
Senate Counsel:
Kathleen Pontius
  (651) 296-4394